What is Lotto called in America?

In America, "the lotto" typically refers to any of the state-run lottery games. However, different states may have different names for their lotteries. For example, in Texas, it's called "Lotto Texas" in New York, it's called "New York Lotto" and in Florida, it's called "Florida Lotto.".

There is, however, one game actually called Lotto America.

Lotto America

Lotto America is a multi-state lottery game that is available in 13 states in the United States. The game was first introduced in 1988 and has undergone several changes since then. In Lotto America, players select five numbers from a field of 52 and one ‘Star Ball’ number from a field of 10.

The jackpot starts at $2 million and increases by at least $50,000 each time there is no winner and the overall odds of winning any prize are 1 in 9.63.

The drawing for Lotto America is held twice a week, on Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:30 PM Central Time.

US National Lotteries

Powerball and Mega Millions are the two most popular and widely recognized lottery games in the United States, often referred to as “de-facto” national lotteries.

Both games are available in multiple states, with Powerball being offered in 45 states plus Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Mega Millions being offered in 44 states as well as Washington D.C., and the Virgin Islands.

Powerball and Mega Millions offer some of the largest jackpots in lottery history, with each game regularly producing jackpots in the hundreds of millions of dollars, and sometimes even reaching over a billion dollars. This potential for a life-changing payout has contributed to the games' popularity and recognition as US national lotteries.

‹ Back to Lotto America questions